Welland Tennis Club History
The Welland Tennis Club was formed in 1913 by Doc Grassie, Percy Williams, Charlie Coulson and local businessmen on the site of the old brickyard, hence the red clay courts. The club was called the Welland Lawn Tennis Club or the City Bowling Green Tennis Court. It maintained that name from 1913 until 1985 when the name changed to the Welland Outdoor Tennis Club. Again in 1995, the name changed to the Welland Tennis Club. The club was cited throughout three decades starting in the 1940’s as the “house that Dutchy built” (Dutchy Doerr).
The first Rose City Festival tournament was hosted in 1966. To the original clay courts, two hard courts were added 1972, the lighting system was installed in 1973 and a further two hard courts were completed in 1979. The Club also is home to a vibrant Junior Program designed for all levels of players between 5-18 years of age. The program is aimed at developing sportsmanship, social skills, and teamwork fundamentals. Its success is undeniable, as the program continues to be the source of Provincial and National level competitors.